Sunday, April 13, 2014

Doctor in Petticoats by Mary Connealy - Review of the first book in the Sophie's Daughters series

I have never read one of Mary's books that I didn't love and this one is no different. I have had this series on my TBR list for a while and finally got started on them, I should have done so sooner. I really enjoyed they way the characters connected with their eyes, I could just imagine myself looking on when this was happening and admiring the love they felt in order for one to gain strength from the other just through the eye contact. Oh yes, this looks like it will be another 'must read' series for Christian/Fiction/Romance book lovers. Thank you yet again for another great book Mary!

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Love Finds You In Calico California by Elizabeth Ludwig

This is the first book by Elizabeth that I have read and I really enjoyed it. I liked the story and the writing style. She held my interest with a little bit of love and some intrigue. A nice clean story with a little bit of sorrow always pulls me in. I will be reading more of her books.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

The Kissing Bridge by Tricia Goyer - Review of the third book in the Seven Brides For Seven Brothers

Oh, Tricia did great with this book! I loved the characters in this story, there were a few from the first two books in the series, and I love Millie's "God Box". There is a lot going on in this book and Tricia keeps you wanting to keep on reading. There is a wonderful ending too! I'm guessing there are more books coming in this series and I am anxiously waiting for it, it's not even listed anywhere yet so she's keeping us guessing on that I guess.

The Hidden Life by Adina Senft - Review of the second book in the Amish Quilt series

It has been a while since I read the first book in this series, "The Wounded Heart", but as soon as I started reading I was pulled right back into the the series. I love Adina's writing and look forward to getting the third book in this series, "The Tempted Soul". The series is about three women who are very close friends and they are all very important in each book even though the focus is on a different woman in each story. If you like Amish stories I'm sure you will enjoy Adina's books.

Monday, March 17, 2014

Love Finds You in Homestead Iowa by Melanie Dobson - Review

I am always pleased to find a book about the Amana Colonies, that is what I knew them as when I was a child growing up in the midwest, eastern Nebraska. I have visited the 'Colonies' but have learned so much more about them by reading books like Melanie's. She did a wonderful job of holding my interest and teaching me more about the 'Community of True Inspiration' and their beliefs.

I have read other books Melanie has written and really enjoyed them too. I think I have all of Melanie's 'Love Finds You' books and I'm looking forward to reading them as I go through my bookshelves of TBR books.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

The Widow's Suitor by Rose Ross Zediker - Review

I really enjoyed this story as it told just how strong one woman could be, not only in proving her land up without her husband but mostly her very strong faith in the Lord. This was a nice short read that I didn't want to put down. If you like Christian Historical books I'm sure you will enjoy this one. Thank your Rose for doing such a fine job, I will be looking for more of your books.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Unforeseeable by Nancy Mehl - Review of the third book in the Road to Kingdom series

There are women turning up dead and while the people of Kingdom know they have to be careful, none have happened to anyone they know or near Kingdom. That changes when two bodies are discovered on the road leading into Kingdom and then one body of a woman they know, she was raised in Kingdom and had left years ago to get married, her husband is now a deputy sheriff. Things are coming too close for comfort.

Not only is it getting closer, Callie Hoffman and others are letting their minds run wild and suspecting some of their close friends and neighbors. When Levi Housler's book about the Anabaptist Martyrs was discovered on the body of one woman people do a lot of talking and wondering. Levi is the new pastor of Kingdom Mennonite Church and Callie's betrothed.

Callie has been going through some personal problems and Levi has been busy with a lot of counseling so they haven't been able to spend a lot of time together and they both seem to be changing. When Levi's book is found and he seems to be keeping a secret Callie has suspicions, and he isn't the only one she suspects.

This series only got better as I read it, this was a great book with more than one mysterious thing going on. I would encourage you to read these books in order to get the full story, you won't be disappointed. Nancy did a fantastic job on this whole series.

I had my own little mystery going on with this book, kind of, lol. I read it on my Kindle because I got it from Net Galley and for some reason any word that had double "f's" in it was missing the letters. Most of the time I automatically put them in as I was reading but sometimes they didn't appear "in my mind", lol and I would find myself trying to figure out the word, then I'd laugh and say to myself, "Oh, yeah, that is 'diicult', 'stuing', or 'o', get the idea, lol, difficult, stuffing, or off. I still really enjoyed the book!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley  <> book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”